top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureraffademichelis

Day 1: How to build a House of Fun

Updated: Apr 3, 2020

On March 23, 2020 my family and I decided that we were ready for my husband to start working from home and for my 3 year old daughter to stay at home from daycare. I'm on maternity leave, with a 4 month baby and my mum is stuck at our house: due to the COVID19 travel mess she cannot go back to Italy.


How do we manage to keep this crew from going insane, locked in a 3 bedroom house?


So we decided to build our House of Fun.


Every day, since that day, I post a STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics), Art & Craft activity that I develop with my daughter. We like the idea of sharing all our ideas, so that other families may decide to walk the path of fun during these scary pandemic times.


We find that engaging our child in a structured activity, once a day, helps setting up a routine, motivates to get the day started, feeds everyone's brain with new things that we learn and keeps us positive.


Indeed, it soon became something that keeps everyone engaged: dad taking a break from work to see what we have crafted, grandma deciding not to put milk lids in the bin because they may be useful for an activity, mum having a purpose at the end of the day when everyone is asleep (plan activities, write blog), baby brother staring at all of us... and neighbours getting in our courtyard - at >1.5m distance ;) - to appreciate our occasional artistic installations.


So this is how we started...


177 views0 comments
bottom of page